Skip to content

Hirst Publishing

June 23, 2013

As many people will know, Daves’s book, “The Boys Of Summer” (now published by Fantom Films), was originally going to be published by Hirst Publishing under the title “Summertime Blues”.

However, after hundreds of fans sending payment for the original book (from Hirst Publishing), and Dave being messed around by the publisher (Tim Hirst), the relationship between them ceased and the book was pulled.

Some fans got refunds, but many didn’t and seemingly Tim Hirst has had it away with many people’s money.

Showaddywaddy fans are not the only ones to have been fleeced by Hirst. There is a rather long thread here with other similar complaints:
http://www.zetaminor.com/roobarb/showthread.php?37522-Hirst-Publishing

And also here:
http://ghost2.livejournal.com/177974.html

To get an idea of numbers of people still awaiting refunds for “Summertime Blues”, please comment below.

There was a suggestion of collective action that might be able to be taken. I will find the details and edit this post during the week.

———–

Update 27th June 2013:

I received an email from Dave a few weeks ago which I don’t think I got chance to add to the old Showaddywaddy.net before I revamped it.  Anyway here it is:

“It’s very disappointing that there still appear to be a number of refunds outstanding.
Two solicitor’s letters have been sent to Hirst and a case prepared against him to the tune of £400. However to
actually enforce the action in a court of law will cost a minimum of £5000.
 
There is a way for people to get their refunds. The Small Claims court of any city council is a service where aggrieved debtors can claim any sum up to a maximum of £5000 against any company or body that has failed them, and all is required is a completed form together with a cheque for £120 (which is added to the amount claimed). If a group of people requesting refunds take a joint action, Hirst would have to respond or he would risk arrest, also the more additional £120 fees there are will surely spur him into immediate action. 

I know this is all extra cost and that many of the guys who ordered the book are not made of money, but surely in the fullness of time it won’t have cost them anything, as Hirst will be forced to respond. If anyone requires further advice I’ll be only too pleased to help.”

So ultimately, if a number of fans can get together and one person can lead, then this should result in Tim being forced to refund.

Please feel free to get in touch with one another and add further comments below.
From → Hirst Publishing

48 Comments
  1. Richard Spencer permalink

    I am still waiting for a refund. I hope to bump into Mr Hirst one day…….

  2. i actually had an e mail saying I would get my money back still waiting don’t expect it now

  3. Mark Woods permalink

    Yep i also received an email saying I would get a refund within days. I’m still waiting……

  4. Bernd(Buddy) Schofield permalink

    Yes, i’m still waiting,too

  5. DAVID HINCHLIFFE permalink

    i also had email saying about refund but donot think this is going to happen soon

  6. dave pacey permalink

    I’m still waiting for a refund from Hirst

  7. I am still waiting and chasing. I was promised a postal order a couple weeks ago but still nothing.

  8. Alisdair Cassells permalink

    like many others received an email way back in January stating I’d get a refund in a few days – I’m still waiting

  9. i am also still waiting a refund.

  10. Stephen Stickels permalink

    Still waiting for a postal order……. promised months ago

  11. Linda Macdonald permalink

    I’m still waiting and if you email it doesn’t work and it bounces back.

  12. stefan morgan ( cymru ) permalink

    im also waiting for a refund,my wife orderd 2 books

  13. Barbara Dorman permalink

    Maybe a daft question but did anyone go through their bank to get their money back? That way you could receive your refund and the banks would have gone after Mr Hirst to recoup the monies owed. Something they do on a regular basis when dealing with people like him.

  14. Susan Parton permalink

    I’m still waiting – Sue Jones

  15. STEVE LEWIS permalink

    I ACTUALLY SPOKE TO THE LOVELY MR HIRST BUT ALAS DESPITE VERY GENUINE SOUNDING PROMISES NOTHING HAS BEEN FORTHCOMING !!

  16. Sue Parton permalink

    I also emailed and requested a refund as I brought it as a surprise birthday present for my partner and received a email to say I would get a refund but alas still nothing,

  17. I appreciate Dave’s efforts but I don’t have £120 hanging about that I can afford to put into the hands of the Court for x number of months. I appreciate that this would be returned with settlement but no doubt so would the £5000 to enforce the action, as costs would be claimed. Dave’s view may be that Mr H has to respond but actually he doesn’t, as he may choose to risk arrest, something which is highly unlikely to happen and I expect he knows that only too well.

    It all leaves a very bad taste and I won’t buy anything else SWW or go and see the band again until I get the refund. That might sound drastic but there is a principle here that also includes the Sun Album fiasco.

    • Yes that’s a drastic measure Nick and it’s sad that you feel like this, especially as you love the band, which I know you do. I have to say from all the fans I’ve spoken to about the Hirst situation, you are on your own with your stance.

  18. Anthony permalink

    Please note there is no guarantee of getting money back taking Count Court action. As for Mr Hirst being arrested, this is a civil matter not a criminal matter!! therefore different laws apply so again this is incorrect information. Mr Bartram should act on everyone else’s behalf and pay these costs as I am sure the people who are buying these “products” are keeping him in the lifestyle he leads. As a goodwill gesture, he could reimburse from his pocket and make a claim himself at a later date from Mr Hirst.

  19. Daz H permalink

    Could not agree with you more, mayby i am wrong in assuming that as to why did Dave go to Hurst publishing in the first place, Did he have a good look around the ability of Mr Hurst being able to full fill the actual printing of said book, did Dave look at any references of previous customers contracts of Mr Hurst, was there any of Mr Hursts publications on Any shelves, i feel not,
    If Dave has i have a wonderfull reputation to consider shouldn’t he have gone an equal reputable publisher in the first place, For some one who contradicts himself so much on the Q&As pages why doesnt he pay us back.

  20. Steve Thorpe permalink

    Anthony & Daz – please be more careful about what you write, given that you do not know Dave personally. He is just as horrified about the situation as all of us, and is furious that fans are out of pocket. As far as I understand it he didn’t receive a penny himself from Hirst, and the damage that this saga has done to his own reputation was never something that he anticipated. I can understand that you’re hacked off about losing money – me too. I still have the money for 3 books outstanding with Tim Hirst, and no hope that this is ever going to be returned. I believe that Dave was pointed towards Hirst Publishing by a friend, and went there in good faith for the book project. It fell apart very fast and spectacularly, and everyone has suffered – don’t be too quick to lay the blame at his door…it’s that swine Tim Hirst who has done everyone out of their hard-earned cash.

    • Could not agree more Steve. Dave went into the agreement with Mr Hirst in good faith.
      None of this is Dave’s fault, it’s Tim Hirst’s.
      Dave is as annoyed as the rest of us and it is extremely unfair to put the blame at his door.

  21. Richard Spencer permalink

    I pretty much feel our money has gone, but let’s not blame Dave for this, as said above he will be mortified this has happened & our money lost is in reality nothing compared to how he must feel about what has happened, to himself & the buyers of this book especially. The Sun album was mentioned in an earlier post but the workings of the recording business are very complex & frustrating, just look at the ‘Hey England’ single, that would have been a chart hit without doubt. I am a D.J. & that song appeared on the monthly pre-release singles CD’s that I buy every month. The company that release them, Mastermix, know their stuff & wouldn’t put on a song that wouldn’t have charted. It would have been a welcome return to the top 40 for the band & who know’s what would have happened after that…….

  22. Anthony permalink

    As per my previous comment and the reply I received. There seems to be some confusion I have not purchased this book but I saw what had been issued by Mr Bartram. My occupation has given me a lot of experience in consumer complaints my partner works for the police hence I know it’s not an arrestable offence, the only reason I commented on this was to stop you people loosing any more hard earned cash

  23. Steve Thorpe permalink

    Hi Anthony – in which case perhaps you shouldn’t have been judgemental about Dave’s lifestyle if you were just dropping in and giving us the benefit of your advice? Cheers for helping us not lose any further wads of cash though 😉

  24. Reflecting on everyone’s comments here I wonder if there is a middle ground that could take us forward. I very much appreciate the effort that Dave has gone to restore our faith, and that he is rightly upset because his reputation is tarnished by all this.

    However, I am not sure if it is really feasible for one fan to lead this on behalf of others and so wondered if Dave could be that fan and mount the County Court challenge through his organisation. I am not sure how we could organise this or how the Court would view this practically but I hope they would view it sympathetically given the circumstances.

  25. So far there are 18 people on here (if I’ve counted correctly) that are awaiting refunds.

  26. i am still waiting for a refund

  27. no point fans arguing amongst themselves looks like we lost our money and I certainly don’:t blame dave

    • moira mcevoy permalink

      I agree graham! Don’t blame Dave but say goodbye to money!

  28. Richard permalink

    Try contacting Tim’s girlfriend Ruth Wheeler on twitter @missadventure79 she certainly seems to be enjoying lots of outings with your money.

  29. nice to know Mr Hirst is on holiday with our money

  30. Dave Kennedy permalink

    Still waiting! I did wonder when it was announced that it would be Hirst books. Ordered a Patrick Troughton biography from Hirst a couple of years ago and the release date was put off numerous times. Eventually the book did arrive although was the paperback version instead of the hardback that was ordered. People like Hirst need bringing to task the sooner the better!!

  31. Ron Geekie permalink

    18 months on and i’m still waiting

  32. I waited more than a year to get a copy of Colin Baker’s short story collection. I did eventually get a copy of it, so thankfully I’m not in the same boat as others in terms of being out money. But I could very easily have been.

  33. Steve Thorpe permalink

    Yup – still waiting too (3 books originally ordered on behalf of a couple of friends too, and not a penny received to date)

  34. Sandra permalink

    After various promises by email – still waiting

  35. Dave Duke permalink

    I give up.

    • Hi Dave, long shot, but you don’t work in the IT industry do you?
      I know a guy called Dave Duke.
      Paul

      • dave duke permalink

        no mate its not me. keep up the good work i love your sww web site.

  36. In the words of Diana Ross ‘I’m still waiting’ but hey ho, I keep going to work to get that 14.99 back and one day I might just earn it back as for Dave I don’t blame him at all. Mr Hurst in my opinion knew all along this project wasn’t gonna happen!! Put me down for a refund Paul 🙂

  37. Alistair Stewart permalink

    Did any of you get any joy following up with Mr Hirst? He moved last year with no forwarding address. However it seems that he is back up in business. http://www.companieslist.co.uk/08965393-vernham-management-limited

    The director’s tab gives his current address which is this pricey place

    http://www.rightmove.co.uk/property/view.html?property=bozo28t5bKru7fg0TgFF5A

    So guess he’s doing ok now and can afford to give back the refunds that he owes?

    • THANKS TO THIS INFO FROM ALISTER I MANAGED TO TRACK HIM DOWN ON GOOGLE AND CONTACT HIM VIA “LINKED IN” AND HE GAVE ME AN INSTANT REFUND INTO MY BANK ACCOUNT FOR £15.00
      MANY THANKS ALISTAIR – GOOD LUCK TO EVERYONE ELSE.
      JUST TYPE IN TIM HURST AND ITS THE FIRST ITEM THAT APPEARS
      REGARDS STEVE LEWIS

  38. Helen Weathers permalink

    I’m still waiting for a refund on a book about The Famous Five. It’s been five years! Many members of the Enid Blyton society were ripped off by Hirst books. Tim Hirst ignores all communications.

    • STEVE LEWIS permalink

      I MANAGED TO OBTAIN A REFUND FROM HIM – I CONTACTED HIM VIA “LINKED IN” WHICH IS SIMILAR TO FACEBOOK BUT FOR BUSINESSES.HE RESPONDED VERY QUICKLY AND GAVE AN INSTANT REFUND.I HAD GIVEN UP HOPE OF EVER GETTING THE CASH BACK SO I WAS PLEASENTLY SUPRISED.
      I REQUESTED HIM AS A CONTACT AND BEFORE HE NEW WHAT I WANTED IT WAS TO LATE FOR HIM TO BACK OUT.
      GOOD LUCK

      • Helen Weathers permalink

        Thanks. I’ve sent him a Connect request on LinkedIn, so we’ll see.

  39. Helen Weathers permalink

    I reported Hirst to BBC Watchdog too but heard nothing. Can I urge others to do the same. Maybe they’ll take more notice if many people report him.

Leave a Reply

